Award design: Canadian Air & Space Pioneer Award

Jim C. Floyd, Chief Design Engineer of the CF-105 Avro Arrow Interceptor, C-102 Jetliner, and CF-100 'Canuck' Interceptor, receives his Canadian Air & Space Pioneer Award in June 2009.

April 13, 2010: A team of engineers from the University of Toronto that helped the Apollo 13 mission return to Earth safely 40 years ago was honoured by the Canadian Air and Space Museum on Tuesday.

The four surviving members of the team were presented with a Pioneer award from the Canadian Air and Space Museum for helping to save the three American astronauts who were aboard the damaged spacecraft.

These three awards were presented to Canadian aerospace pioneers Owen Maynard, Jim Floyd, and John Hodge at the Canadian Air & Space Museum on June 20, 2009.

When the Arrow project was cancelled by the Canadian government on February 20th, 1959, these men were disbanded from the Avro Aircraft Company (Canada), and Maynard and Hodge were part of a group of 31 engineers that were recruited by NASA, where Maynard would design the Lunar Module (LM), and eventually hold the title of chief of the systems engineering division on the Apollo Spacecraft Program. John Hodge would become a Flight Director at NASA for Gemini 8. Jim Floyd went to England where his advanced projects group went on the develop the Concorde.

Touchstone To History (Artifact Display)

Our brick display unit and plaque showcases one of 120 bricks salvaged from the Avro Aircraft Company's building 'C', where the rollout of the revolutionary aircraft C-102 Jetliner (first of it's kind), CF-100 'Canuck' Interceptor, and the legendary CF-105 Arrow first emerged. Available from the Canadian Air & Space Museum.



© 1997-2012 Kropserkel Inc. / Interest? contact us
Main Page / New / Replicas / Originals / Profile / Contact / Site Map